Some Chums are Decided By the Parents

Narcissus 🥀
3 min readMay 7, 2024

--

Photo by sofatutor on Unsplash

Well, I have learnt so far, which always takes time, that parents endeavour to provide us as much as possible.

But parents should have faith in the mannerisms and teachings that they teach their children or somehow the children inherit. If they have earned sacred, they will get the same from their children. Honesty always pays off either in this world or hereafter.

It's about 7 to 8 years ago, I was in grade 4. My best friend's name was Momina, and she has been my best friend since kindergarten. (And still, I consider her.) She was also my far neighbour, for her home is not too far to reach, just 5 minutes away. I can just have a view of her home from my room's window, and it so happens when I miss her utterly.

We both used to go to each other's homes to play; I still remember the aroma of her house and her beautiful toys. I would also offer her the toys that my father brought for me from some foreign states. Meanwhile, our fight used to be very funny. We went to school by the same mean. And whenever I or she got late, we both got late for our class. As a result, the teacher made us stand outside the classroom for one complete lecture, and during that time we just blame each other for that punishment.

In grade 4, I was promoted to grade 5 at the end of the first term. I got many new acquaintances but one close friend. Time flew away, and the day came when I had to say Goodbye to my school as well as my fellows.

On the day of the farewell party, I got Momina's contact number to remain in contact with her forever. After all, we both had had many sweet memories together.

When I was in class 11, I along with my mother visited her residence near the season of Eid (A festival). Her mother was very nice and disciplined; I truly appreciate her hospitality. I invited Momina to my house whenever she got time. Since that day, I have been looking forward to her, but she has not come. She also changed her contact number, and I don't have her new one. I have also asked her class fellows about her but all in vain. I got nothing!

One day, I asked my mum,

"We should visit Momina’s house again. I don’t know how she is. I can’t help meeting her anymore."

To my surprise, my mum's words were,

"I think her mother has bade her not to talk to you. We have been to her home many times, and now it's her turn. And if she doesn't come, maybe it's because their standards are higher than ours."

That was a bolt from the blue! I was duly at the loose ends! Then I said nothing. It's not just about once. I lost many acquaintances just because of my mother's will. Whoever, she doesn't like, she forbids me to meet or talk to her or him.

Photo by DDDanny D on Unsplash

Sometimes, I consider these restrictions a weight-bearing burden on me, but at times, I also think that my mother has experienced life and people that's why she is saying so. Whatever the reason is, I can do nothing but accept the reality.

Thanks for reading. Follow MAG for exciting stories.

--

--

Narcissus 🥀

I'm a writer of short stories and quotes & a passionate learner; I write to decline my pains. I'm grateful to my teacher who always encourages me to explore.